Site Tools


Sidebar

Translations of this page:
en:support:studit_support:gwdg

GWDG

Website: http://www.gwdg.de/

Occasionally you may hear or read the abbreviation “GWDG”. The GWDG is a corporate facility of the Georg-August University of Göttingen and the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. It serves the purpose of a data processing and IT competence center for the Max Planck Institutes and a data processing service center for Göttingen University. The main scientific task lies in applied computer science. Additionally the GWDG supports the education of skilled personnel for information technologies.

Concerning their partnership agreement the GWDG supports science and research by

  • operating a data processing supply system for research facilities and universities,
  • playing an active part in the professional scientific development of IT and TK technology for research projects and academic teaching,
  • rendering services for research facilities and universities as research foundation,
  • advising scientific users concerning problems in the area of IT and TK technology and participating in problem solutions,
  • training scientific users of IT and TK technology
  • operating own research in the area of practical and applied computer science, especially concerning the use of computers for the solution of scientific problems and questions. In doing so the object of investigation is the data processing supply system as a whole.

The operation of mainframe computers (parallel computers), the provision of special purpose systems and the service support for the GÖNET connecting the scientific institutes in Göttingen are among the tasks assigned to the GWDG. The GWDG connects the GÖNET to the nationwide scientific net X-WiN and the Internet.

Serving as a competence center the GWDG advises and supports the attended to institues in all questions concerning scientific data processing.

en/support/studit_support/gwdg.txt · Last modified: 07.12.2012 12:54 by helena.zimpel

Webseiten-Werkzeuge


Sidebar

Übersetzungen dieser Seite:
support:studit_support:gwdg

GWDG

Website: www.gwdg.de

Hin und wieder wird Dir im studentischen Alltag vielleicht die Abkürzung GWDG auffallen. Die GWDG ist eine gemeinsame Einrichtung der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen und der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Sie erfüllt die Funktion eines Rechen- und IT-Kompetenzzentrums für die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und des Hochschulrechenzentrums für die Universität Göttingen. Ihre wissenschaftlichen Forschungsaufgaben liegen im Bereich der Angewandten Informatik. Ferner fördert sie die Ausbildung von Fachkräften für Informationstechnologie.

Laut ihrem Gesellschaftsvertrag fördert die GWDG die Wissenschaft und Forschung, indem sie

  • ein DV-Versorgungssystem für Forschungseinrichtungen und Universitäten betreibt,
  • bei der wissenschaftlichen Gestaltung der IT/TK-Technologie für Forschungsprojekte und universitäre Lehre mitwirkt,
  • für Forschungseinrichtungen und Universitäten als Forschungsförderungseinrichtung Leistungen erbringt,
  • wissenschaftliche Anwenderinnen und Anwender bei der Lösung von Problemen im Bereich der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie berät und bei der Umsetzung der Problemlösungen mitwirkt,
  • wissenschaftliche Anwenderinnen und Anwender von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie aus- und weiterbildet,
  • eigene Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Praktischen und Angewandten Informatik, insbesondere zur Methodik des Rechnereinsatzes, für die Lösung wissenschaftlicher Fragen betreibt. Das gesamte von ihr betreute DV-Versorgungssystem ist dabei Objekt der Untersuchung.

Zu den Aufgaben gehören insbesondere der Betrieb von Hochleistungsrechnern (Parallelrechner), die Bereitstellung von Spezialsystemen und die Betreuung des Übertragungsnetzes GÖNET, das die Göttinger Institute verbindet. Über die GWDG ist das GÖNET mit dem nationalen Wissenschaftsnetz X-WiN und dem Internet verbunden.

Als IT-Kompetenzzentrum berät und unterstützt die GWDG die von ihr betreuten Institute bei allen Fragen der wissenschaftlichen Datenverarbeitung.

support/studit_support/gwdg.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 28.06.2012 16:50 (Externe Bearbeitung)